The local FFA chapter hosted their annual spring banquet on May 21. The evening began with an invocation and lasagna dinner followed by an inspirational speech concerning the “ripple effect” by previous State Vice President Lewis Mendive.

Multiple members of the community were admitted as Honorary Members of the Diamond Mountain FFA chapter including: Chae Ensley, Justin and Debbie Skinner, Chris and Amy Jensen, Dan and Briana Brown, Donna Waltrip, Robert Hogan and Kevin and Alice Nicholes. Several other awards and recognitions were presented as well. Trevor Merritt and Megan Damele received checks from the Nevada FFA Association for earning Star State Farmer and State Proficiency Award respectively. Senior Crystal Hubbard received the three FFA scholarships totaling $3,500 while fellow classmate Shania Jensen received the National FFA scholarship for $1,000. The nights awards were concluded when Jake Jensen received the Member of the Month award.

Finally, the highlight of the banquet took place as next year’s chapter officers were inducted. Next year’s officer team is as follows: Blaze Hogan as Sentinel, Kallie Norris as Historian, Brendan Mears as Reporter, Nicholas Hornberger as Treasurer, Heather Lacovara as Secretary, Trevor Merritt as Vice President, and Gracie Damele as President.6-5 FFA Spring Banquet1