By Ken Curto

Ely Elks Lodge

Six White Pine High School graduates became the sixteenth recipients of the David E. Norman Scholarship Trust on at the end of the school year. The six scholarship winners are Madison D. Trimble, Jane Agnes Murdock, Aymee Saray Felix-Quispe, Hazel Quinones, McKenzi Wilkin and Jaden Ernest. Each of these winners will receive a $1,500 award from the scholarship trust.

David E. Norman, a former White Pine County Principal, established this scholarship program in 1999. Interest generated from a gift of $500,000, donated by Norman, is used to provide scholarships each year to needy and deserving youth who attended White Pine High School their junior and senior years prior to graduating. The scholarship trust is managed by Elko Lodge 15, F.&A.M.

Selection is based on academic performance, citizenship, service to others and financial need. The scholarship committee reviews the applications before making the annual awards and winning students must attend the University of Nevada at Reno or Las Vegas after graduation. All six winners graduated with the Class of 2015 at White Pine High School.