KayLynn Roberts-McMurray
Martha Rivera-Sindelar and Meg Rhoades file for 2018 elections at the county clerk’s office on Monday.

Filing opened on Monday for individuals seeking local or statewide offices in the 2018 election. The two-week filing period ends on March 16, at 5 p.m.

The filing fee for county office is $100; and $30 for school yrustee, hospital trustee, television district and GID seats..  There is no filing fee for soil conservation district.  The terms are four-year terms.

Incumbents due for re-election to the White Pine County offices are Burton Hilton for county assessor; Nichole Baldwin for county clerk; Martha Rivera-Sindelar, county recorder; Catherine Bakaric, county treasurer; Michael Wheable, district attorney; and Scott Henriod for sheriff.

New candidates who have thrown their hat in the political ring so far are Ray Sawyer, who filed for sheriff; Meg Rhoades for county clerk; and Travis Godon for county commission, Seat 5.

The Hospital District Board of Trustees has three incumbents; Julie Gianoli, Burton Hilton and Richard Rowley. Hilton was at the clerk’s office bright and early Monday morning at 8 to file for re-election for his seat with the hospital district board in addition to the assessor seat he holds.

All three school district board trustee seats are termed out. Lori Hunt, Pete Mangum and Matt Hibbs held those seats. Hibbs and David Costello have both filed for the justice of the peace seat that Stephen Bishop is an incumbent for. This seat is a six-year term.

The statewide offices up for a four-year  term include the following: governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, state treasurer, state controller and attorney general. Except for the secretary of state and comptroller, the other state offices are either termed out or have decided to run for another office.

The seats for McGill/Ruth and Water, Baker Water/Sewer TV, and the White Pine Television District No. 1 all have seats with several incumbents.

Gary Perea who currently holds Seat 5 on the county commission is termed out as well.

Dean Heller is running for re-election to another six-year term to remain as Nevada’s senior senator.

The primary election is June 12, and the general election is set for Nov. 6. For more information contact the White Pine County Clerk/Registrar of Voters at 775-293-6509 or the Nevada Secretary of State at 775-684-5705.