Courtesy photo

The White Pine County Library held its Annual Poetry Contest on March 24, 2018.  Over 30 children competed in the following three categories: Elementary School, Middle School and High School.  The winners were: Jack Lani (Elementary), Anja Hansen (Middle School), and Clare Dishong (High School).  We would like to thank our sponsors Mt. Wheeler Power, State Farm Insurance-Tiffany Swetich, and Jailhouse Motel & Casino for donating the Chrome Books.  With the incentive of the Chrome Books as prizes the poetry contest has grown over the past three years.  We would also like to thank Gretchen Skivington, from Elko, who hosted the poetry workshop that was held on March 9, 2018 to encourage participants.