Special to The Ely Times 

The Nevada Board of Regents has named recipients of the 2019 Distinguished Nevadan awards who will receive the Nevada System of Higher Education’s most prestigious honor at Spring commencement ceremonies. 

The award recognizes prominent individuals who have made significant contributions to the cultural, economic, scientific, or social advancement of Nevada and its people.

Local Dr. George Norman Christensen has been nominated. Known for his dedication to the health and well-being of White Pine County residents, Christensen is the longest serving rural preceptor for the UNR School of Medicine who is credited with introducing ambulance service and training for emergency medical care in rural Nevada.

Other nominations include former Governor Robert List and Brian Sandoval. Former Nevada Governor and two-term Attorney General, Gov. List is also proud to be an Honorary Alumnus of UNR. As the state’s chief law enforcement officer, he established the first criminal division and anti-trust unit, and as governor played a pivotal role in the preservation of Lake Tahoe.

Sandoval served two terms as Governor and two terms as Attorney General, was a U.S. District Court Judge, Chairman of the Nevada Gaming Commission, and Chairman of the National Governor’s Association. He was UNR Alumnus of the Year and DRI President’s Medal honoree.